Search type

Confucius Institute

Chinese writing on an HSK test paper

HSK (Chinese proficiency test)

Find out more about the HSK Chinese proficiency test and how to register to take the test.

The HSK (Hanyu Shuiping Kaoshi) test is China's only official test of Chinese language proficiency for non-native speakers. It is open to foreign students, overseas Chinese, and members of ethnic minority groups in China, and provides the global standard for Chinese language proficiency from beginner to advanced level.

It also provides a concrete demonstration of your ability to prospective employers, foreign institutions and other international organisations.

The test is administered by Hanban, a non-government organization affiliated with the Ministry of Education of the Chinese government.

As of October 2011, The Confucius Institute at the University of Manchester is an official HSK Test Centre for the HSK Department of the National Office for Teaching Chinese as a Foreign Language of the People's Republic of China (Hanban).

The New HSK comprises six levels:

  • Levels 1, 2 and 3 are entrance-level examinations that correspond to our basic level courses.
  • Levels 4, 5 and 6 correspond to our intermediate and advanced level courses.

HSK examinations 2017

Our next set of paper based examinations will be held on the following date; 

  • Saturday 20 May 2017 (HSK 1-6 and HSK Beginner, Intermediate and Advanced)

The deadline for registration and payment is one month before each exam. 

Further details for the May 2017 exams are below. 

LevelStart TimeDuration (minutes)Total ScorePassing Score


13:30 40 200 120
HSK 2 09:00 55 200 120
HSK 3 13:30 90 300 180
HSK 4 09:00 105 300 180
HSK 5 13:30 125 300 180
HSK 6 09:00 140 300 180
HSKK Beginner 16:30 17 100 60
HSKK Intermediate 16:30 21 100 60
HSKK Advanced 16:30 25 100 60

We recommend that students sign up for one of our HSK preparation courses for help with exam technique and to increase their chances of success.